Message Image  

Frequently Asked Questions

How Will Appointments Be Made?

Lobby Day appointments will be made by State Captains. State Captains will coordinate with other participants from their own state and submit one appointment request to House and Senate offices on their behalf. If you would like to volunteer to be a State Captain or assist a State Captain, please email Laura M. Flegel at lflegel@nelahq.org. We also encourage Lobby Day participants who have relationships with Members of Congress representing other states to contact the appropriate State Captain about joining those Hill Visits.

What Do I Need To Do To Prepare For Lobby Day?
I've Never Been To A Lobby Day. Can You Provide Training?

You are strongly encouraged to participate in our Lobby Day training teleconferences, "NELA Lobby Day Issues" on April 9 and "How To Lobby" on April 16. These pre-Lobby Day teleconferences are designed to help you maximize your time on the Hill by walking through pertinent Lobby Day documents and resources, reviewing talking points for the reintroduction of the Arbitration Fairness Act and the Civil Justice Tax Fairness Act. In addition, we will discuss the importance confirming judicial nominees at a robust pace to ensure that our courts are filled with qualified judges who reflect the rich experiential diversity of the legal community. You also will have the opportunity to ask any questions you might have about Lobby Day, your Hill Visits, or the legislation for which you will be lobbying.

If you are unable to participate in the teleconferences, recorded versions will be made available on this site to all participants shortly after the live event.

Lobby Day Trainings

Teleconference: "NELA Lobby Day 2015 Issues"

WHEN: Thursday, April 9, 2015

TIME: 12:30 p.m. Pacific/1:30 p.m.Mountain/2:30 p.m. Central/3:30 p.m. Eastern

HOW: Dial (712) 432-0265
Enter conference ID: 976723#

Teleconference: "How To Lobby"

WHEN: Thursday, April 16, 2015

TIME: 12:30 p.m. Pacific/1:30 p.m.Mountain/2:30 p.m. Central/3:30 p.m. Eastern

HOW: Dial (712) 432-0265
Enter conference ID: 976723#

Lobby Day Orientation & Briefing
April 23, 2015
9:30 a.m.–10:30 a.m.
United Methodist Building
Conference Room 1 & 2
100 Maryland Avenue, NE
Washington, DC

Please review the Program-At-A-Glance for the complete Lobby Day schedule.

Preparing For Hill Visits

Questions?
Contact Laura M. Flegel,
Legislative & Public Policy Director,
lflegel@nelahq.org, (202) 898-2880, ext. 115

Preparing For Your Hill Visits
Hill Visit Briefer
Tips For Successful Meetings With Congressional Offices

Scheduling Hill Visits: State Captain Resources

Sample House Hill Visit Request Email
Sample Senate Hill Visit Request Email
Hill Visit Appointment Form

Capitol Hill Switchboard: (202) 224-3121

Reporting On Hill Visits


Hill Visit Appointment Form
Hill Visit Report Form
Lobby Day Evaluation

One moment, processing...